This month, I wanted to recommend some new books we recently got in to Magdalena Public Library. All of these are available for check out. Have you read any new books recently?

Time for School, Charlie Brown by Charles M. Schulz, adapted by Maggie Test, illustrated by Robert Pope

“Charlie Brown can’t stop worrying about the new school year, and he enters the school’s spelling bee in order to break out of his rut and do something extraordinary.”

It’s back to school season, so I figured this would be a good pick to start off with. And who doesn’t love Snoopy? This book is a Level 2 Easy Reader, with longer sentences, simple chapters, and high-interest vocab words. A great pick for learning readers!

Who Would Win? Ultimate Shark Rumble by Jerry Pallotta, illustrated by Rob Bolster

“What would happen if 16 sharks met in a tournament? Who will be the champion? Who do you think would win?”

Personally, my money is on the Great White, but my favorite is the Tiger Shark! I haven’t read it yet to find out, but I love this series! Real facts delivered in a fun, easy to read way that’s great for kids. We’ve got several here at the library, including: Ultimate Jungle Rumble, Falcon vs. Hawk, Hornet vs. Wasp, and Polar Bear vs. Grizzly Bear.

Pizza and Taco: Too Cool for School by Stephen Shaskan

“Best friends Pizza and Taco are ready to head back to school, but there are lots of other cool kids, like Cheeseburger and B.L.T. Can they be cool too?”

This is a great graphic novel about how cool it is to be yourself, not what everyone else thinks you should be. The art style is a mix of doodles and collage that really comes together. A great, silly, hilarious book for elementary kids.

In the Hall with the Knife by Diana Peterfreund

“A storm strands a motley crew of students on campus with their headmaster. Then, the headmaster turns up murdered, and it seems like everyone has a motive for murder…”

I have been dying to read this one! Clue was one of my favorite games as a kid; I always wanted to be Miss Scarlet, because I love her red dress. This modern adaptation has great reviews and has been checked out three times since we got it a few months ago!

The Big Dark Sky by Dean Koontz

“A group of strangers bound by terrifying synchronicity converge on a remote Montana ranch where a madman lurks with a vision to save the future through murder…”

If you like a side of cosmic spookiness with your intense thrillers, the reviews say this book is for you. This is the latest from Dean Koontz, a master of suspense, published just this July. We have several of his books at the library including his bestselling Odd Thomas series.

No Accident by Steven F. Havill

“Good cops have no use for coincidence. When a truck slams into her son’s tandem bike twice, and then the person who borrowed that truck is found dead, undersheriff Estelle Reyes-Guzman races to solve the case and keep her son safe.”

I had to include NM author Steven Havill’s latest Posadas County Mystery on this list! I can proudly say we now have all 25 books in his well-loved series here at the library. Local readers have told me it’s a great pick for fans of Michael McGarrity or Anne Hillerman.

Ivy Stover, Librarian, Magdalena Public Library