Santa’s Sleigh is on its way to New Mexico by Eric James, Illustrated by Robert Dunn (Picture Book)

“Santa can’t visit until you’re fast asleep, so snuggle up and read what happens on Christmas Eve when things don’t go quite as planned.”

Lyrical and rhyming, reminiscent of The Night Before Christmas, this one is perfect for a read aloud before bed.

Santa is coming to New Mexico by Steve Smallman, Illustrated by Robert Dunn and Jim Mitchell (Picture Book)

“Have you been good? Are you ready to go to sleep? Then Santa is coming to town! Read about what happens to Santa when he visits New Mexico.”

Beautiful illustrations of well-known New Mexico landmarks and a cute story featuring Santa’s youngest reindeer.

Between Us and Abuela by Mitali Perkins, Illustrated by Sara Palacios (Picture Book)

“When María, Juan, and their mother go to the border between California and Mexico to visit their grandmother at Christmas, María must devise a way to get Juan’s gift over the fence.”

A super cute picture book about family, love and Las Posadas Sin Fronteras celebrations at the border.

Fox in the Frost by Ben M. Baglio, Animal Ark series (Chapter Book)

“It’s Christmas at Animal Ark, but for a pair of foxes it’s far from the season of goodwill. Mrs. Ponsonby is convinced they’re a danger to her dogs and wants them driven out of the area. But the local farmers are thinking of a more drastic solution. Can Mandy and James save the foxes from being injured…or worse?”

We have several of the popular Animal Ark series, including two other wintery tales: Polars on the Path and Husky in a Hut.

Brian’s Winter by Gary Paulsen (Chapter Book)

“As millions of readers know, at the end of Hatchet, Brian is rescued at the end of a grueling summer. But what if he hadn’t been rescued? What if Brian had been left to confront his deadliest enemy—winter?”

This riveting, high stakes survival adventure is perfect for fans of the original Hatchet or survival stories.

1225 Christmas Tree Lane by Debbie Macomber, A Cedar Cove Novel

“Beth Morehouse’s Christmas plans are complicated when someone leaves a basket filled with puppies on her doorstep, and her daughters invite their dad, Beth’s ex-husband, hoping for a mom-and-dad reunion.”

The last book in Macomber’s Cedar Cove series, this book is perfect for fans of Hallmark Christmas movies.

Lies Come Easy by Steven F. Havill, The Posadas County Mysteries (Adult Mystery)

“With one person missing and two dead, the Posadas County Sheriff’s Office will be stretched to the limits trying to juggle the tangling web of deceit and wrangling their own families for the holidays.”

Havill’s books are perfect for fans of C.J. Box and Michael McGarrity, or Southwest mysteries.