Socorro County Court House


Correction: Julie Griego is running for County Assessor as a Republican, not as a Democrat. 

The 2022 election cycle is underway.  March 8 was the filing date for the June primaries.

After New Mexico’s Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver issued the primary election proclamation on January 31, candidates have spent the last five weeks scrambling for petition signatures and filing paperwork for their chosen contest.

Socorro County’s 2022 primary election ballot will ask voters to choose their party’s candidates for sheriff, county commission, state representative, and other county offices, as well as governor.

Only registered Republicans, Democrats and Libertarians may vote in the June 7 primary for their respective party ticket.

With the new redistricting map, Socorro County is served by three state representatives. All three districts are on the ballot.

State Representative District 69

Democratic – Harry Garcia

No Republican candidate

State Representative District 38

Democratic – Ravi Bhasker, Tara Jaramillo

Republican – Sandra Kay Hammack, Melba T. Aguilar

State Representative District 49

Republican – Gail “Missy” Armstrong

No Democratic candidate

Socorro County Commission

Democratic – Joe R. Gonzales (District 1), John J. Aguilar (District 3)

No Republican candidate

Socorro County Sheriff

Democratic – V. Demecio Silva

Republican – Lee Polo Armijo, Casey A. Spurgin

Socorro County Assessor

Republican – Julie M. Griego

Socorro County Probate Judge

Democratic – Gilbert George Peralta, Dawn E Weaver

No Republican candidate

Socorro Magistrate Judge

Democratic – Felix Saavedra

No Republican candidate

Seventh District District Judge

Democratic – Roscoe A. Woods

No Republican candidate


On the state level:


Democratic – Michelle Lujan Grisham

Republican – Gregory Joseph Zanetti, Ethel R. Maharg, Mark V. Ronchetti, Rebecca L Dow, Jay C. Block

Libertarian – Tim Walsh, Evette Bedonie

Secretary Of State

Democratic – Maggie Toulouse Oliver

Republican – Audrey Trujillo

Libertarian – Mayna Erika Myers

Attorney General

Democratic – Brian S Colón, Raúl Torrez

Republican – Jeremy Michael Gay

State Auditor

Democratic – Zackary A. Quintero, Joseph M. Maestas

No Republican candidate

State Treasurer

Democratic – Heather R. Benavidez, Laura M. Montoya

Republican – Harry B. Montoya

Commissioner Of Public Lands

Democratic – Stephanie Garcia Richard

Republican – Jefferson L. Byrd, Aubrey Dunn

In Catron County, the four Republican candidates for Magistrate Judge are Shawn C. Menges, John Cliff Snyder, Samuel L. Nicholds, and Susan E. Griffin. There are no Democratic candidates for Magistrate in Catron County.

Vying for the Catron County Commissioner at Large Position 1 are Rae D. Towner on the Democratic side, and Sheridon F. Bryant, Buster Floyd Green, and Russell D. Kalberg on the Republican ballot. For At Large Commissioner Position 2, Audrey H. Mcqueen, and A. Brent Laney.

Running for Catron County Sheriff are Keith Shannon Hughes, Kenneth Adrian Adair, and Lillie M Laney.

March 15 was filing day for write-in candidates and April 5 is the last day for candidates to withdraw from the primary ballot, according to the Secretary of State’s website.