The Socorro Board of County Commissioners will look a little different next year. Canvassing was completed at last week’s county commission meeting. County Clerk Betty Saavedra said the canvassing went well.

“The commissioners went through every precinct,” she said. “It didn’t change any of the results from the unofficial count.” As for those voting in-person, Saavedra was pleased with the turnout.

“We had a few lines here at the courthouse, but overall it was fine and everyone cooperated with social distancing and the other the public health restrictions,” she said.

While commissioners Ray Martinez (R) and Glen Duggins (R) retain their positions, Craig Secatero (D) will now represent District 2.

Secatero bested Andrew Salas (R) 599-525 and succeeds Matha Salas who termed out. He said that he will fight for the issues most important to his district and the county as a whole.

“I want to thank everyone who voted for me and entrusted me to be your next County Commissioner,” Secatero said in a statement. “These last eight months have been the most incredibly trying times our community has faced. There isn’t one person who hasn’t been impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic. This pandemic has ripped the band aid off the inequities: inadequate broadband, health care, and infrastructure. I’m thrilled to be able to move our district forward and be your champion on the county commission and fight for these important issues.”

In District 4, Glen Duggins retains his seat on the county commission. He received 59 percent of the vote with 891, easily surpassing his challenger Manuel Vega (D) with 618. Duggins said he was humbled that people in his district chose him for a second term.

“It makes you feel good that people did back you up. It makes you grateful,” Duggins said. “But it’s hard for me to take a ‘victory lap.’ I know that when you win, that’s when the work begins.”

He said he ran because he wants a better community.

“It’s the will of the people is all I can say,” he said. “Win or lose, I’ve seen both ends of that, but I am humbled and grateful.”

District 5 incumbent Ray Martinez (R) easily swept past Democratic challenger Gilbert Murillo 1,033 to 635. “I want to thank everyone for their help and support on my re-election,” Martinez said. “I feel so honored, humbled, and happy. Please continue to let me know how I can assist you. Special thanks to my family and my dear wife, Alicia, for always supporting me.”

He said he felt honored to be able to continue working with the other commissioners and county manager.

“One commissioner has no authority,” Martinez added. “It takes all commissioners to make things happen.”

Democrats held onto state Senate District 28 with Sara Correa Hemphill of Grant County narrowly defeating Republican James “Jimbo” Williams of Catron County, 11,599 to 11,215. Correa Hemphill takes the seat currently held by Gabrial Ramos, who was appointed by Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham following the election of Howie Morales to Lieutenant Governor.

Correa Hemphill said she was grateful for the support she received.

“We move forward today with renewed energy and commitment to the issues we care about — making lives better for our families, our neighbors, and our state,” she said in a statement. “There’s much work to do. Thank you to my family, our dedicated volunteers, my campaign team, and countless others who share in this win. I am grateful to you all. And finally, thank you to James Williams for your participation in the process and willingness to serve. I am honored to serve you as your next State Senator for District 28 – from the bottom of my heart, my deepest gratitude”

Senate District 28 covers Socorro, Catron, and Grant counties.

In House District 49, State Representative Gail Armstrong (R) ran unopposed, receiving 8,413 votes.

Armstrong said she will continue working on issues most important to the district. “I wake up every morning and just keep doing what I’ve been doing,” she said. “Every day, no matter who’s in charge, I’m just going to get up, put my pants on one leg at a time and go to work for the community. I believe in fairness, and sometimes it’s a hard row to hoe. I represent Catron which is all red, and Valencia, too, and Socorro, which is heavily blue, but as you know I’m in the middle. I’ll sit down with anybody and visit.

“Tell me your woes,” she said.

In House District 69, Harry Garcia (D) retains his seat, defeating Republican challenger Ray Randall Ryan 5,819 to 3,339. Garcia said he looks forward to another term.

“I would like to thank the voters of Alamo for turning out to vote in spite of the pandemic. COVID has affected their community greatly and we really appreciate their support this election,” Garcia said. “A special thanks as well to Tara Jaramillo with Direct Impact in Socorro for helping to distribute the roughly 1,500 PPE donated by members of the Democratic Party to ensure a safe voting environment. I look forward to another term of serving constituents across all six counties within my district and helping to create a stronger New Mexico for everyone.”

Garcia represents all or part of Bernalillo, Cibola, McKinley, Socorro, San Juan and Valencia counties.

In House District 30, Joshua A Sanchez (R) defeated Pamela M. Cordova (D) 6,112 to 3,878, replacing outgoing representative Natalie Figueroa, a Democrat.

As a first time lawmaker, Sanchez said he was looking forward to the legislative session.

“I am working hard to hit the ground running and trying to get in place all the team members, ideas and information needed to be successful as a New Mexico Senator,” he said. “I can’t wait to work with the people of District 30, and all parties to further the future of New Mexico.”

Recapping other races

Incumbent County Clerk Betty Saavedra was unopposed and garnered 5,572 votes.

Incumbent County Treasurer Rose Mary Rosas received 5,157 votes.

The hospital mill levy easily passed 5,007 to 1,219.

“At Socorro General Hospital, we are incredibly grateful for the support and partnership of our community today, and every day,” said Veronica Pound, hospital chief executive. “Our community’s support for the mill levy this Election Day means our hospital, clinics and communitybased programs will be able to continue to provide many critical services. Your confidence in us reinforces our commitment to improving the health of those we serve.”

Seventh Judicial District results: District Attorney Clint Wellborn was unopposed and received 16,779 votes.

All three district judges retain their positions.

Division 1. Mercedes C. Murphey – 13,679 to 5,491 in favor of retention.

Division 2. Matthew G. Reynolds – 14,047 to 5,117 in favor of retention.

Division 3. Shannon L. Murdock – 13,345 to 5,861 in favor of retention.