Courtesy photo

New Mexico School Boards Association’s state officers traveled to Fargo, N.D., on Sept. 8-11, to attend the annual nine-state Western Region Meeting, which includes New Mexico, Colorado, Oklahoma, Kansas, Wyoming, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota and Montana.

State President Marvyn Jaramillo of Mesa Vista was elected to a three-year term as the Western Region Representative on the National School Boards Association Board of Directors.

New Mexico has not held this seat for almost 15 years.

In addition, NMSBA Past President Pauline Jaramillo of Socorro was elected to continue as the Western Region Representative Alternate on the National Nominations Committee.