Marcus Armijo is the District 3 3A Offensive Player of the Year.
Russell Huffman | El Defensor Chieftain

Socorro’s Marcus Armijo was named the Offensive Player of the Year, and Caden Moreland and Brian Armijo were picked as Co-Defensive Player of the Year at the recent 3A District 3 All-District voting.

The Warriors’ dual-threat quarterback led his team to an 11-1 record overall and a perfect 3-0 in league play after passing for 1,377 yards through ten games and 22 touchdowns. The field general was also feared for his running game, as he accumulated 958 yards and 15 more scores.

Moreland battled with Brian Armijo all season long for the team lead in tackles, recording 72 total stops that included 45 solos. Armijo was Socorro’s ball hawk with 50 solo tackles over a 69-tackle season – he had 17.5 tackles for losses.

All three players, along with Xamian Aguilar, Warren Kurtnacker and Damian Greenwood, were picked for the New Mexico High School Coaches Association small school all-star game.

All six players are also first-team all-district selections, and joining them for all-district first-squad honors are Warren Chewiwi, Alex Amaro, Isaiah Ocampo, Kaden Dow, David Gutierrez and Diego Chavez

Socorro’s second-team selections included Cenyon Scarborough, Colton Dow, Garrick Gutierrez, Gabriel Giron, Shane Bustamante and Nathaniel “Sunny” Nunez.

Andrew Handrich, Jacob Montoya and Ian Gonzales were named honorable mention.

The Socorro coaching staff was named Staff of the Year.