Every spring Socorro Electric Cooperative holds its annual meeting to do business that will affect every member for the coming year. If your name is on your electric bill, you are a member of the co-op.

This year, the annual membership meeting is on Saturday, April 1 in Macey Center’s main auditorium. Three percent of the total membership is necessary for a quorum.

The registration period for the April 1 meeting is from 1-3 p.m. and the business meeting is set for 3-5 p.m. The main order of business this year is the election of two Trustee positions. All members will be able to vote on each race, regardless of the district in which they live.

Prospective candidates are asked to file their candidacies before February 1.

The two Trustees up for reelection are James Nelson in District 2, and Luis Aguilar in District 3.

District 2 is the area around and including Magdalena and Alamo.

District 3 is the city limits of Socorro.

Members residing in either of those districts and interested in filing as a candidate for the office of Trustee must file an “Affidavit Declaring Candidacy” form at the Socorro Electric Cooperative office, 215 Manzanares Avenue.

The completed candidacy form must be received at the co-op office no later than 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 31.

Socorro Electric serves customers in Catron, Cibola, Sierra, Socorro and Valencia counties.

SEC Board Meetings are typically held on the fourth Wednesday of each month. The meetings are held at 2 p.m. at 310 Abeyta Avenue in Socorro.