Primary voting day is next Tuesday, June 7, when Socorro and Magdalena voters will have the chance to choose their party’s candidates in the general election in November.

Early in-person voting at the Alamo Wellness Center ends on Friday, June 3, at 4 p.m.

Early in-person voting at the Socorro County Clerk’s Office and Magdalena Senior Center ends on Saturday, June 4, at 6 p.m.

In November in the general election, voters in Socorro will also be casting their votes for Governor; Lieutenant Governor; 38th, 49th and 69th District State Representatives; Secretary of State; Attorney General; State Auditor; State Treasurer; Commissioner of Public Lands; and three Court of Appeal judges.

On the national level, Congresswoman Yvette Herrell will be running for re-election in the Republican primary, and there are two vying for the Democrat candidacy.

Locally, candidates will be chosen for county commissioner positions; county sheriff; district, magistrate and probate judges; and county assessor.

In the June 7 primary:


  • US Representative District 2 – Darshan Nilesh Patel, Gabriel Vasquez
  • Governor – Michelle Lujan Grisham
  • Lt. Governor – Howie C. Morales
  • Secretary of State – Maggie Toulouse Oliver
  • Attorney General – Brian S. Colón, Raúl Torrez
  • State Auditor – Zackary A. Quintero, Joseph M. Maestas
  • State Treasurer – Laura M Montoya, Heather R Benavidez
  • Commissioner of Public Lands – Stephanie Garcia Richard
  • State Representative District 38 – Ravi Bhasker, Tara Jaramillo
  • State Representative District 69 – Harry Garcia, Marvin Anthony Trujillo (write-in)
  • Seventh District Court Judge – Roscoe A. Woods
  • Socorro County Sheriff – Demecio V. Silva
  • Socorro County Commissioner District 3 – John J. Aguilar
  • Socorro County Commissioner District 1 – Joe Gonzales
  • Probate Judge – Gilbert Peralta, Dawn Weaver


  • Governor – Karen Evette Bedonie, Tim Walsh, Ginger G. Grider (write-in)
  • Lt. Governor – Travis Steven Sanchez
  • Secretary of State: Mayna Erika Myers
  • State Auditor – Robert Jason Vaillancourt (write-in)


  • US Representative District 2 – Yvette Herrell
  • Governor – Jay C. Block, Rebecca L. Dow, Gregory Joseph Zanetti, Ethel R. Maharg, Mark V. Ronchetti
  • Lt. Governor – Ant L. Thornton, Peggy L. Muller-Aragón, Isabella Solis, Anastacia Anise Golden Morper, Patrick H. Lyons
  • Secretary of State – Audrey Trujillo,
  • Attorney General – Jeremy Michael Gay
  • State Treasurer – Harry B. Montoya
  • Commissioner Of Public Lands – Jefferson L. Byrd, Aubrey Dunn
  • State Representative District 38 – Melba Tajallieh Aguilar, Sandra K. Hammack
  • State Representative District 49 – Gail Armstrong
  • Public Education Commissioner – Stewart Alan Ingham (Write-In)
  • Magistrate Judge – Felix William Saavedra
  • Socorro County Sheriff – Lee Polo Armijo, Casey A Spurgin
  • Assessor – Julie Griego

Polling places can be found on the Secretary of State’s website at: