Taryn Hall cuts through the water during one of her swimming events at the Socorro city pool on Saturday.
Russell Huffman | El Defensor Chieftain photos

Full results weren’t immediately available, but Socorro Stingray swimming coach Cody Johnston was pleased with his team’s hometown meet at the city pool on July 1.

Fans crowded the poolside and saw the Stingrays turn in some of their best marks of the season, which is good news with the district meet set for July 12 in Albuquerque.

“Most of the pools that we swim in are 25 meters in length, so these times don’t really count, so it’s just kind of a fun to meet for the teams to show up and compete,” Johnston said.

Socorro’s Stingrays participate in the Sundance League, which takes a slightly different approach to competitive swimming.

Brosie Saavedra is in full stride as he leaps into the pool during the Socorro Stingrays’ hometown meet Saturday.

“The Sundance League is just during the summer, so we’re a non-competitive competitive league. It’s designed for kids to build a better swimming environment,” Johnston said.

The coach grew up swimming with the Stingrays as a child, then became an assistant coach his first year of college, and Johnston has now assumed the duties of heading the program.

“I’ve been swimming in the Sundance League since I was seven or eight, So it’s been 11-12 years with the Stingrays,” Johnston said.

That means the Stingrays who qualify for the state meets on July 15 should be well-guided as they hit the water.

“I think about 25 percent of our swimmers (there were 42 on Saturday) have a good chance at qualifying for the state meet,” Johnston said.

Stingray members (8 and under up to 18) taking part in their hometown meet included Sebastian Aafloy, Sofia Aitbayev, Timur Aitbayev, Janeah Angel, Tig Baker, Caleb Baldonado, Mila Baldonado, Aryamah Benavidez, Abby Cadol, Dru Cadol, Ally Chavez, Hev Chavez, Owen County, Drew Crespin, Ryan Crespin, Kellen Demorest, Eryn Esquibel, Ryan Hall, Taryn Hall and Rylan Hicks.

Additional swimmers include Kathleen Johnson, Connor Johnston, Lina Lopez, Rafael Morales-Brindle, Rodrigo Morales-Brindle, Sara Owen, Vedy Patidar, Beverly Rincones, Grady Rosales, Tatum Rosales, Brosie Saavedra, Emilo Saavedra, Stocky Saavedra, Anea Scates, Rio Sessions, Sky Sessions, Riley Sewell, Annabelle Spring-Nuckols, Maeve Sturgis, Neja Vallejos, Ben Watkins and Charles Watkins.